Welcome to

Hotel Palazzo Stern Venezia

, search and book your room

USD U.S. dollar

English


Choose your language

Reviews Recommended by 43 guests out of 44

Overall Hotel rating

  • Property facilities 4.7
    • Aspect and property quality 4.8
    • Room cleanliness 4.8
    • Room comfort 4.4
    • Hotel location (city centre or good connections to) 4.9
  • Service offered 4.5
    • Quality of the service and treatment 4.5
    • Professionalism of employees 4.6
    • Average satisfaction for the service received 4.5
    • Quality of breakfast 4.4
  • Balance between web presentation and reality 4.3
    • Property pictures 4.3
    • Room pictures 4.2
    • Available services 4.2
    • Distance from the centre and the main tourist attractions 4.6

Rating by type of Guests

  • Single traveller (6) 4.8
  • Couple (30) 4.6
  • Couple with children (7) 4.5
  • Business traveller (0) -
  • Group (1) 5
  • Legend
  • 1pt: bad
  • 2pt: average
  • 3pt: above average
  • 4pt: good
  • 5pt: excellent

Guest reviews with comments

  • 5 December 2016
    4.2 / 5 Good

    Christian larzul (France)Couple
  • 3 December 2016
    4.5 / 5 Excellent

    Very friendly staff at the reception
    nice bedrooms,

    Anonymous (Switzerland)Couple
  • 28 October 2016
    4.7 / 5 Excellent

    Anonymous (France)Couple with children
  • 28 August 2016
    4.2 / 5 Good

    Some staff members less than friendly, whereas others very helpful.
    Breakfast mediocre. Aspect and rooms and position excellent.

    CJM (United Kingdom)Couple with children
  • 9 May 2016
    4.7 / 5 Excellent

    Deception sur la chambre sans véritable fenetre : un simple vasistas double suspendu . un peu juste pour un séjour de 5 nuits (meme si on ne reste pas tres longtemps dans la chambre). Par contre accueil emplacement et petit dejeuner sur le grand canal magnifique

    Anonymous (France)Couple
  • 30 March 2016
    4.7 / 5 Excellent

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Single traveller
  • 10 January 2016
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Anonymous (Spain)Couple with children
  • 25 August 2015
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Johan Maerten (Belgium)Couple
  • 10 June 2015
    4.9 / 5 Excellent

    Anonymous (Switzerland)Couple
  • 26 May 2015
    4.7 / 5 Excellent

    Air condition set to 18. Never dropped below 19.2 and that was on 3rd morning. Even left power card in room during day, but temperature never dropped much.
    Bottles holding shampoo and body wash are almost impossible to open. Had to use my teeth to finally get a rough enough surface to be able to open....This is an easily corrected situation that I found an embarassment for this type of quality hotel, where we have stayed several times.

    Bruce Flohr (United States)Couple
  • 19 May 2015
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Absolutely beautiful hotel. Pictures don't do it justice. It's nicer. My single room was fine. Felt like Venice.
    Perfect location; being on the Alilaguna and vaporetto line is convenient and not to be taken lightly in a city like Venice.

    Kathi Dubin (United States)Single traveller
  • 2 February 2015
    3.8 / 5 Good

    Gláucia Laís Salomão (Sweden)Couple
  • 20 December 2014
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Beautiful property. A mini-Danieli.

    Ralph Schrader (United States)Couple
  • 20 September 2014
    3.8 / 5 Good

    Room was very small. Our friends room did not even have a window in it. Not as spacious as shown in
    Photos, yet very expensive,

    Barbara Miller (United States)Couple
  • 16 September 2014
    4.7 / 5 Excellent

    A lovely hotel. This was our second visit and we have already booked again for next year.
    The hotel is adjacent to a Vaporetto stop so getting around is no problem but as the hotel is situated on the Grand Canal between the Academia and Rialto Bridges many places are easily accessible on foot.
    The hotel has no restaurant for lunch or dinner but a few minutes walk takes you to many delightful eating places with some really good food.(Other than Pizza!).
    In all lovely place to spend a few days watching the world go by.

    Les Mitchell (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 18 August 2014
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Very good staff that made the stay comfortable and memrable.

    Malvinder bhatia (United States)Couple with children
  • 8 April 2014
    5 / 5 Excellent

    One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

    John williams (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 26 March 2014
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Two small disappointments in an otherwise excellent hotel; (1) We found it pretty difficult to use the heated towel rail as it was positioned above the bath. Mentioned this to the reception desk on leaving.(2) Although the jacuzzi bath is considered a feature, we found the lack of full shower facilities a little inconvenient. Having to kneel in the bath & hold a shower head over yourselves is the only option to having a full bath.
    Neither issue would prevent us returning to this fantastic hotel. It's also worth noting that there are a number of decent restaurants and bars within easy walk, around San Barnaba square, immediately behind the hotel.

    Simon (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 17 March 2014
    4.4 / 5 Good

    This is an excellently located hotel with great accommodation. Staff were friendly but only disappointment was when we checked out we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay or whether we would return to the hotel but we will almost certainly do so

    Nigel M (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 23 January 2014
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Anonymous (United States)Single traveller
  • 19 January 2014
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Vraiment un très bon hôtel à Venise plein de raffinement et avec un excellent rapport qualité prix. Je recommande absolument.

    Christophe MECHIN (France)Couple
  • 4 December 2013
    4.9 / 5 Excellent

    Mário Vilar (Belgium)Single traveller
  • 18 November 2013
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Ann burr (United States)Couple
  • 14 November 2013
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Great hotel in most ways and superb location-our room had absolutely no view -the room a bit cell-like

    Tosca (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 12 October 2013
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Claudia Egli (Switzerland)Couple
  • 15 July 2013
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Un très bel hotel idéalement placé dans VENISE.
    Un personnel extrêmement gentil et dévoué pour sa clientèle.
    Franchement, BRAVO!

    Pierre SIMON (Gambia)Couple
  • 25 June 2013
    4.8 / 5 Excellent

    Un hotel tres agreable, acceuil souriant. Le plus :le petit dejeuner (complet) sur le grand canal. Le personnel est aussi souriant au départ qu'à l'arrivée !
    Nous y reviendrons pour notre prochain séjour à Venise.

    Olivier De Cock (France)Couple
  • 22 May 2013
    4.1 / 5 Good

    Avoid room 101.
    Great location. Beautiful public rooms and terrace overlooking the Grand Canal.
    Although the bedrooms are well-equipped, the website is misleading about the standard rooms, some of which have no effective windows and room 101 has bars on the 'light source' like a prison. This room in no way comes up to the standard expected in a Palazzo and is in great contrast to the rest of the hotel.

    Deborah (Switzerland)Couple
  • 15 March 2013
    4.5 / 5 Excellent

    Anonymous (Canada)Couple
  • 8 February 2013
    4.4 / 5 Good

    Magnifique a part quelques PB d eau chaude

    Rémy MEZZETTA (France)Couple
  • 8 May 2012
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Beware, what you book w. Unitravel is not what the Homepage of the Hotel shows.
    We had booked a Standard room, described with a view on Canal Grande, the Garden or over the roofs on the Hotels Homepage and Unitravel got us a room under the roof w. only Roof windows.
    Great Hotel, but better dont book w. Unitravel.

    Ralf Ferinand (Germany)Couple
  • 24 September 2011
    4.9 / 5 Excellent

    A beautiful property in an excellent location. The only suggestion we would make is that it would be helpful if it was possible to get a simple lunch-time snack (panini etc.)on the terrace. We will certainly consider using this hotel again.

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 5 September 2011
    4.9 / 5 Excellent

    Ein wunderschöner, alter Palazzo, mit viel Liebe zum Detail und ohne Rücksicht auf die Kosten restauriert und renoviert in einer Spitzenlage von Venedig. Direkt in der Nähe zwei wunderschöne Campos mit hohem Freizeitwert. Vaporetto-Anleger unmittelbar vor dem Hotel.
    Einziger Minuspunkt: Zimmer und Getränke ein bisschen zu teuer!

    Barbara Puth (Germany)Single traveller
  • 15 June 2011
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Hotel Stern was definitely one of the highlights of our two week trip to Italy. We were pleasantly surprised by the old world charm & beauty of this Hotel. The weather was great so we were able to enjoy breakfast out on the patio overlooking the canal. The accomodations were great & the staff was over the top 100% of the time. We will recommend this hotel to all of our friends that come to Venice & we hope to come back very soon. Thank you for your hospitality!!!

    Rosemarie (United States)Couple
  • 22 January 2011
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Marvellous smiling, friendly staff, all very professional, nothing too much trouble. Hotel perfectly situated next to vaporetto & traghetto stops. Lovely to stay in small hotel where personal service is all important. A memorable stay. Thank you.

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Couple
  • 11 October 2010
    3.4 / 5 Above average

    Superb looking hotel with wonderful surroundings and inclusions...however I would definitely NOT recommend this hotel. Unfortunately for us, we decided to splash out on our Venice accommodation and pay top dollar for this particular city - my biggest regret throughout our three week holiday in Italy & France. At $850 per night I would have expected that we would have been allowed access to the roof top spa bath as it is promoted on your website. $100 per hour is outrageous! Please note that it is NOT short walking distance from the train station as you suggested on your website - this should be altered..! All the other hotels I stayed at were fantastic.

    Vicki Johnston (Australia)Couple with children
  • 15 September 2010
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Louise Beylerian Beylerian (United States)Couple
  • 9 August 2010
    5 / 5 Excellent

    Anonymous (United States)Group
  • 11 April 2010
    4.3 / 5 Good

    Superb location and a wonderful old building which gives a very good idea of what it might be like to be an affluent resident Venetian. Out of the main season however, when we stayed, it does slightly give the impression of being run by a skeleton staff and you will not for example find them coming out to see if you want anything if you take a seat in the bar or on the terrace. Breakfast is simple for a 4* establishment but well presented in an airy room or on the terrace if warm enough. There is no evening restaurant service but of course a huge range of other places to eat within a short distance and the reception staff are very helpful in making recommendations and reservations.

    Anonymous (United Kingdom)Couple with children
  • 7 April 2010
    4.7 / 5 Excellent

    Soraya Madani (United States)Couple
  • 26 March 2010
    5 / 5 Excellent

    One of the finest hotels I have stayed in. Excellent location, very friendly staff. Expensive, but worth it.

    Anonymous (United States)Single traveller
  • 11 March 2010
    4 / 5 Good

    Pienso que un hotel, de estas caracteristicas, deberia tener restaurante, tanto para comidas y cenas, y no solamente
    desayunos. El personal, un encanto y muy profesionales.

    Rafael ApellidosFernández Mue fernandez muela (Spain)Couple
  • 24 November 2009
    4.6 / 5 Excellent

    Wir waren sehr positiv überrascht von der Lage (wirklich direkt am Canal Grande), Verkehrsanbindung (Wasserbus-Schiffsanleger direkt vor dem Hotel), von der gediegenen Ausstattung und Ausstrahlung des Hotels und dem sehr zuvorkommenden Service des Personals. Das Hotel können wir nur empfehlen.

    Anonymous (Germany)Couple
  • 10 August 2009
    4.9 / 5 Excellent

    Very good hotel situated directly on the Canale Grande and the Vamporetto Station Ca Rezzonico.
    We can highly recommend this hotel.

    Anonymous (Luxembourg)Couple with children

Give us your Feedback